How I got into FAANG

David Seek
7 min readFeb 2, 2021

Find more useful articles at www.davidseek.com

Over the past months, many colleagues and friends have asked about my preparation, interviewing experience, and how my life has changed since I joined Amazon as a Software Development Engineer, working on the Alexa iOS application.

Although I don’t want to bore you with irrelevant anecdotes and stories, it’s still important for the bigger picture to understand who I am, my background, and how I ended up in the FAANG interview process.

Before code

Just like many reading this article, I don’t come from a traditional computer science educational background. I spent all of my twenties in the restaurant and nightclub industry, navigating a relatively successful decade as a club DJ.

That life, for many obvious and non-obvious reasons, was not sustainable. Working in night clubs six nights per week really takes a toll on one’s wellness, fitness, and ultimately, happiness.

Driven by the mainstream success of mobile applications like Snapchat and Uber, I decided to end my career as a DJ. I began to attend college remotely and was able to get a position as a QE intern at a software company in Munich. There, I developed Selenium UI automation tests in Java.

--

--